The use of health care vouchers for optometric purposes has always been controversial, mainly because of the many different ways of using health care vouchers and the varied requirements of customers. Which have given rise to different ideas and misunderstandings among the public about the wordings and the original meaning of health care vouchers. 

In fact, many elderly people will encounter blurred vision. The experience tells us that most of them will not take the initiative to face the problem. Certainly, they do not have very high vision requirements, such as a common refractive error, most of them will not urgent to deal with it. However, from a professional point of view, elderly people are at a higher risk of encountering different underlying degenerative conditions or eye diseases, such as cataracts, glaucoma or diabetic upper eye. Which are closely related to their physical conditions.

The health care vouchers are placed at the optometric level with the aim of encouraging the elderly to be more willing to go to professional optical shops for a comprehensive eye health check-up to understand their own eye health conditions. Finally, come up with a plan to protect their eyes and enhance their eyesight.

Health Care Voucher "Elderly Eye Examination Service" includes:

1. Consultations
2. Refraction
3. Cataract Screening Programme
4. Glaucoma Screening Programme
5. Vitreous and Retinal Disease Screening Programme
6. Comprehensive Vision Assessment and Targeted Recommendations 

*The Elderly Health Care Voucher Scheme allows two spousal elderly persons aged 65 or above who are eligible to use health care vouchers to share each other's health care vouchers with the consent of both parties and after linking their health care voucher accounts. At present, the amount of health care vouchers payable to each eligible elderly person is $2,000 per year, and the maximum cumulative amount of health care vouchers is $8,000. Starting from the year in which elders become eligible for the Elderly Health Care Voucher Scheme, the amount of health care vouchers they are entitled to in that year will be automatically credited to their health care voucher accounts on 1 January.

Any unused voucher amount can continue to be used in subsequent years. There is no limit to the retention period of unused vouchers, but the total amount accumulated in each eligible elderly account as at 1 January each year (i.e. the sum of the voucher amount issued on 1 January of that year plus the unused voucher amount of the previous years) must not exceed the prevailing maximum voucher accumulation amount.

Scroll to Top

醫療券在視光用途上一直頗有爭議性,主因坊間手法層出不窮,人客要求又千變萬化,大眾對醫療券措拖和原意有不同的想法或誤解。 

其實很多長者都會遇上視力模糊的問題,但經驗告訴我們大部分長者都不會積極主動花時間去面對。當然他們視力要求不會很高,如果是一般屈光不正,處理的急切性不大。但站在專業的層面看,長者有更高風險遇上不同情況的潛在退化或眼疾,例如常見的白內障,青光眼或糖尿上眼等,都與他們身邊狀況息息相關。

醫療券放在視光層面,目的是鼓勵長者更願意到專業的眼鏡店進行全面的眼睛健康檢查,清楚了解自身的眼睛健康狀況,得出保護雙眼及提升視力的方案。

醫療券「長者驗眼服務」包括:

1. 問診
2. 屈光檢查
3. 白內障檢查計劃
4. 青光眼檢查計劃
5. 玻璃體及視網膜疾病檢查計劃
6. 綜合視力評估及針對性建議 

*長者醫療券計劃現容許兩名有配偶關係、均年滿65 歲並合資格使用醫療券的長者,在雙方同意下並連結其醫療券戶口後可共用對方的醫療券。現時,每名合資格長者每年可獲發的醫療券金額為 2,000元,而醫療券累積金額上限為 8,000元。長者自符合長者醫療券計劃資格的年度起,他們於當年度可獲發的醫療券金額會於1月1日自動存入他們的醫療券戶口。

尚未使用的醫療券金額均可在隨後年份繼續使用,未使用的醫療券保留年期不限,但於每年1月1日每名合資格長者戶口內所累積的總額(即該年1月1日獲發的醫療券金額加上往年尚未使用的醫療券金額總和)不得超過當時的醫療券累積金額上限。

Scroll to Top